Hej, jag heter Louise, är en just-turned-22-tjej och bor i Malmö. Har ett genuint intresse för grafisk kommunikation, stora tavlor med nakna kvinnor, fotografi, webdesign och journalism. Den här bloggen finns för att stimulera sysslorna ovan samt andra historier, så allt hänger med!

The issue with cyberbullying: we don't really care

I just finished watching the film called Cyberbully for the second time in a couple of months and it hits me just as hard every time. Not because I have been bullied via the Internet but because I realise how many people have. And how easy it is to be a victim. And a perpetrator. 

Sitting behind a computer screen builds up a lot of courage. Some might even say boldness. I'm well aware of it and I am sure all teenagers are. It is a lot easier saying something flirty in a online chat conversation than it is face to face. The same way it is a lot easier saying something terribly mean to someone over the Internet. 

I guess when you cannot see the other person's reaction and face when throwing the harsh words you don't really think it will make an impact. 

I can write a essay of what feelings I believe are being brought for someone who is exposed to this but I wont. But I want to address how ridiculously easy it is for us to be mean over the Internet. And how so many people enjoy it.

We have websites such as 9GAG and Reddit. Websites that are made for make fun of others. I visit this website daily and I laugh - but I am not amused over all of these posts published to amuse people on the cost of someone else.

Take Kristen Stewart, for example. She has been a victim of these trolls creating jokes about how she never smiles and the "irony of her playing Snow White when she looks like crap". [Link], [Link] Every time I see one of these pictures a part of me wants to close down the website, send an email to the creator and tell them how wrong this is. But then I don't - because it doesn't really affect me. 

And here's the core of my problem with this entire subject: Unless we, or someone close to us, are attacked - we won't lift a finger to address the matter. We'll just smile, nod and move on to the next subject posted on our Facebook newsfeed. Because that's what we do, we don't really care unless we have to. 





Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-mail: (publiceras inte)

Hemsida:

Kommentar:

Trackback